About Me

img_6967My name is Dean Lefebvre. I am an instructor in the Dental Hygiene Program at Saskatchewan Polytechnic. I have been teaching full time since 2010 but I did teach a night class, continuing education courses and on a part-time basis since 1996. I still work occasionally during the summer months in private practice and I remain very involved in my profession volunteering on a number of committees, speaking at conferences and participating in a variety of events. I am passionate about community dentistry and helping those who experience many barriers in accessing care. Since 2011, I have organized a free Dental Day in Regina where dental professionals volunteer their time, skill and knowledge to make a difference within their community. To date we have provided care to over 500 patients and completed over $250,000 worth of dentistry for free. In September of 2018, I organized a group of dental professionals to go up to La Loche to provide care (Northern Dental Day). It was the most rewarding project I have ever been involved in and we are planning on returning in 2019. La Loche has the highest dental decay rates in not only Saskatchewan but in all of Canada! We saw 92 patients and made many new friends.

I am committed to lifelong learning as I have obtained my Bachelor of Science from the University of Saskatchewan, Diploma in Dental Hygiene from SIAST, Certificate in Adult Education and Training from the University of Regina, and soon my Masters of Adult Education from the University of Regina. I continue to further my skills and knowledge in Dental Hygiene by attending conferences and seminars. I volunteer on a number of committees both professionally and personally. I am an accreditation surveyor for the Commission of Dental Accreditation of Canada and reviewer for Dental Radiography: Principles and Techniques. I own my own business, Regina Preventative Dental Services, where I make custom-made sports mouth guards, night guards and tooth whitening.

img_20180630_203621639_hdrI am married to an amazing woman since 1998 who is incredibly supportive and patient with my busy lifestyle and we have two awesome children (14 and 17 years old) who continue to make me proud in what they do and accomplish. I coach my son in hockey which I thoroughly enjoy. When we do have free time, we enjoy travelling, going to the cottage during the summer months and spending time with family and friends.

Although I am not overly active in social media, you can follow me on Twitter at @pdlefebvre

Advertisements